Tags

,

Over the last several dreary weeks of winter my heart has been lifted by watching the graceful cattle egrets flying in and out and enjoying the insects raised by the munching cows.[000087]

I have been happily absorbed taking photos and particularly challenged by capturing the birds in flight.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               [000017]Over the last few days there have been no egrets and I miss them so much.  Cows in paddock (2)

I wrote this poem to celebrate the beautiful birds:

Elegant birds the egrets flying,

The grass so green it soothes my eyes,

it feeds the cows that munch content,

birds and cows, unlikely friends.

The grass so green it soothes my eyes,

Through the window a pastoral scene,

of birds and cows, unlikely friends,

egrets eating insects exposed by beasts.

Through the window a pastoral scene,

cows part of it day in day out.

Egrets eating insects exposed by beasts,

lifting wings they go, I await their return.

